LET’S CHANGE THE WORLD

“When I was young and free and my imagination had no limits, I dreamed of changing the world. As I grew older and wiser, I discovered the world would not change, so I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country.

But it, too, seemed immovable.

As I grew into my twilight years, in one last desperate attempt, I settled for changing only my family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it.

And now as I lie on my deathbed, I suddenly realize: If I had only changed my self first, then by example I would have changed my family.

From their inspiration and encouragement, I would then have been able to better my country and, who knows, I may have even changed the world.”

As EC members we wrote down all of the things we wish the world would do to change.

We understand that in order for the world to do these things we must also do them ourselves.

We are the leaders of the Virginia Tech campus.

Some wall + other photos from the meeting:


Buy your VT rally towel for $5! All proceeds go to environmental student wanted projects on campus. Towels can be bought at the bookstores and are made of 100% recyclable material.

Get pumped for VIRGINIA POWERSHIFT.

See you Tuesday,

The Environmental Coalition

9 thoughts on “LET’S CHANGE THE WORLD

  1. As a Mom of one of your members, I confess, I was once a drinker…..of bottled water. Not at home, but nearly always when out and about. My EC member reminded me that our drinking water at home is excellent and she gave me a nice reusable bottle. This turns out to be more convenient, thrifty, and healthy. How did I come to rely on the bottled water companies for hydration? I thought I was more advertisement savvy, more environmentally aware. One person encouraged me to think about my bottled water dependence, set a great example, helped me find a workable alternative, and kept untold numbers of plastic bottles out of the landfill. And now the demand is slightly less for having them even being made in the first place! One person affected some change here. Oh, and coffee….I have a reusable for that now, too. I just thought I’d share this as an example of how all of you together can produce so much good. Thanks

Leave a Reply

